The Collapse Gap

It’s not often that I run across a startlingly original interpretation of current events, but here’s one. The writer asserts that, quite by accident, the USSR of the late 1980s was much better prepared for economic collapse than the US of today. He then proceeds to show why many of the characteristics of Soviet society, so miserable from the point of view of modern industrial capitalism, served the population well as their union disintegrated and governmental mechanisms collapsed, while the antithetical characteristics of Western society are likely to make economic collapse (if it ever comes) dire and painful for westerners.

One good thing about this essay is that it consists mostly of observations well worth pondering, no matter how the reader is inclined to view modernity. In thinking about economic collapse it hadn’t occurred to me that the Soviet Union was an excellent recent example of just that, one well worth studying and about which there is lots of information available. This essay is a good starting point for that.

7 thoughts on “The Collapse Gap

  1. Rick,

    There are indeed many similarities between the U.S. and the former Soviet Union. Even more striking are the disimilarities – Orlov’s observations are most helpful in this area. Thanks for the link.

  2. I think we have all seen this on a small scale. When the computerized cash registers at a store are down the whole business stops. The procedures and lack of numeracy on the part of the cashiers prevents any further business.

    JB Chesser

  3. I did not put anything away for Y2K, I just did not think would happen. Now I am busying making preparations for forced simpler living. Basic steps for me are deep pantry stocking, no debt, getting all protein on homestead etc.

    It amazes me how many people that went all out for Y2K now are not interested in planning. If nothing happens, I still get the satisfaction of having fewer bills and eating better food while living a slower pace of life…

    Doug Peterson

  4. Hi Doug,

    I believe strongly in acquiring skills, knowledge and tools for simpler living, but not so much in stockpiling. I’m still eating y2k stuff. ;-) Getting and staying out of debt, however, makes good sense in any economy.

    A lot of former y2kers are just embarrassed they were wrong, and can’t bring themselves to sound the alarm again. I know. I’m one of them. Some of us, it seems, just have a built-in distrust for all things modern. And I have learned to distrust my distrust, to a degree, if you get my meaning. For all I know, the modern smoke and mirrors economy might last another 100 years – but my gut says, no way.

    So for me, my conscience won’t let me ignore the warning signs and do nothing. History is full of examples of over-confident civilizations coming to a screeching halt. It really can happen here as well. But, the bottom line is, if I turn out to be wrong, it won’t matter because the preparations I’m making are good sense no matter what happens. I’ll just rejoice and praise Him all the more if nothing happens. If such comes to pass, He has not dealt with us as we deserve, to the glory of His marvelous grace.

    I’d be interested in hearing why you’re making preparations now, but didn’t for y2k. That is, if you want to share.

  5. All,

    you may enjoy reading survivalblog.com. The editor is a reformed Christian and shares many of the opinions expressed by the author of this presentation. Plus he offers much advice regarding surviving the coming collapse.

    It’s interesting to me that the solution to the problems described in the presentation may be solved via Christian agrarianism. In fact, I’m working on an article positing this thesis.

    Rick, thanks for the article.

    Best regards to all,

    Doug H.

  6. Starving is starving… nothing from nothing is still ..nothing…
    Most people in the old USSR had nothing so when the “state” collapsed their economic outlook didn’t change much. The people in rural comunities faired better than city dwellers but that has been true for most of history whether the disaster was natural or economic. Just my 2 cents ;)

  7. The dollar, as predicted is being crushed. We are now at Par with the Canadian Dollar, the Loonie as it is called. This was all so predictable. You cannot run an 800 bilion dollar trade deficit and have your currency in demand. We have a lot farther to fall. Within 5 years from 2008 we should see the Canadian Dollar worth 25 % more than the U.S. dollar. The Euro at 1.40 now, should move to near 2.50, as China buys more and more of the Euro.
    The pound at 2.04 as I write this will be near 3.00. Be ready for CHINA. When they finally let their currency float it will appreciate 70% over a 36 month period. The US trade deficit will be cut in half and then some by 2020.

Leave a Reply

