Where there's smoke

When I wake up in the middle of the night I don’t think that much of my brain wakes up with me, just enough to tend to whatever needs tending to. Friday morning around 3am I woke up, and something didn’t seem quite right. As I was coming back from the bathroom it occurred to me that I was smelling smoke, and I was curious where the smell might be coming from. I took a look out the bedroom window, didn’t see anything obvious, and came close to just climbing back into bed before deciding that I should probably go downstairs and look out all the windows first.

I did, and scanning the horizon I didn’t notice anything obvious. Not surprising, since I don’t think I remembered to bring my glasses. Finally, it occurred to me that the smoke might be coming from the chick brooder next to the house. I went and looked, and it did seem like there might be smoke drifting out (it was probably pouring out; remember, no glasses). So I went back upstairs, woke Chris, and told him to get down to the brooder and see what was going on.

Sure enough, the bedding under one of the heat lamps had been smouldering, and by the time he got there it had burst into flame. Being a wooden-floored structure, I don’t know how long it would have been until the whole thing started to burn. He put the flames out, then got a watering can and sprinkled down the bedding with it. Given that the brooder sits about two feet from the house, we’re thinking about where exactly we want to move it to.

That story isn’t nearly as dramatic as this one from Nathan V, but a few minutes later it might have been.

Leave a Reply

