Rain

Last evening after supper we heard a delightful sound that has been absent for far too long, namely a steady rain falling on our metal roof. The sound continued off and on throughout the night, very comforting, and at breakfast this morning we saw from the gauge that we have gotten an inch so far. Right now there’s a break, but I see on the radar that another healthy storm is moving towards us from Nashville. That’ll be it for the day, but the forecast says that more should be coming early next week.

And now we wait and see. I don’t know enough about drought and rain and fall temperatures and the nature of grass to guess whether we’ll see any significant growth in the pastures before it turns cold, but I expect I’ll be learning something about that in the next few weeks. I do know that grass goes dormant at some point, cued by the weather. We’ve had a few sub-50 degree nights, but the forecast is promising low temperatures n the high 50s for the next week. Perhaps God will be gracious and hold off the cold so that our pastures can recover, at least a bit.

In any case, I think this will be enough moisture that Chris can get a start preparing garden beds, for the fall garlic planting and for next spring.

One thought on “Rain

  1. I’d be interested in hearing about your garlic planting. I live in Michigan and I’m thinking of putting some in this fall, but all I know about it is what I’ve learned from Herrick Kimball.

Leave a Reply

