Technical note: changes to this weblog

I’ve made a couple of changes to this weblog which should be relatively transparent. First, I moved it from my own server to a free wordpress.com account; however, anyone looking in the old location should be redirected here automatically. Second, I’ve switched the permalink style (the format of the URLs used to point to a post) to something more readable; however, the old ugly links should continue to work as well.

One other less obvious but more annoying change is the format of the Curiosities sidebar, where the entries are now crammed together and harder to read. I was able to tweak this on my own website, by changing some of the CSS formatting rules. Unfortunately, wordpress.com charges $15 per year to allow you to edit the CSS formatting on their site. If I can think of enough other reasons to have that capability, I may pay for it and then fix the problem, but for now it is what it is.

The smallest problem of all is the picture at the top of the page. I can change it to the old familiar image of our front porch, but only if it is cropped to certain dimensions. I haven’t decided what to do yet.

And, just to test that photos can be uploaded to the new site, here is one taken of some re-enactors at the Jane Austen festival in Louisville last month.

 

JaneAustenFestival

Leave a Reply

