The Assembling of the Church

I haven’t become a subscriber yet, but more and more in idle moments I’ve traveled over to Alan Knox’s weblog and spent a few moments browsing through past entries. I like how Alan thinks in general, and I especially appreciate his calm, steady, relentless examination of some potentially contentious ideas.

One of his regular features falls into the funny yet too true category, where he revises various passages of scripture so that they are in accord with how we actually live our lives. Often the contrast he draws with a few carefully chosen words does a better job of highlighting the radically unworldly nature of a scripture passage than any sermon could ever do.

The feature is called Scripture … As We Live It, and there are seventy of them so far. Here are some of my favorites (deletions are struck out, additions in red):

#68: Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life persuasiveness of their teaching, and imitate their faith follow their instructions. (Hebrews 13:7 re-mix)

#61: And we urge you, brothers, let your elders admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. (1 Thessalonians 5:14 re-mix)

#49: You, however, have followed my teaching, my conduct, my aim in life, my faith, my patience, my love, my steadfastness, my persecutions and sufferings that happened to me at Antioch, at Iconium, and at Lystra – which persecutions I endured; yet from them all the Lord rescued me. (2 Timothy 3:10-11 re-mix)

#48: What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me – practice these things instruct others in these things, and the God of peace will be with you. (Philippians 4:9 re-mix)

#38: You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life;and it is they that bear witness about me, yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life; and you are right. Just keep studying. (John 5:39-40 re-mix)

#17: I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ the theological system that you have been taught and are turning to a different gospel theological system – not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel only theological system of Christ. (Galatians 1:6-7 re-mix)

#7: So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind unless they’re wrong, having the same love unless they’re wrong, being in full accord and of one mind unless they’re wrong. Do nothing from rivalry or conceit unless they’re wrong, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves unless they’re wrong. (Philippians 2:1-3 remix)

#1: What then, brothers? When you come together, each one has a hymn, a lesson, a revelation, a tongue, or an interpretation find a place to sit, sing along with the band or choir, and listen to the preacher. Let all things be done for building up as prescribed by your leaders. (1 Corinthians 14:26 remix)

One thought on “The Assembling of the Church

Leave a Reply

