Don’t Look Now

I loaded a bunch of albums from early in my music listening history onto my MP3 player, and as I drive here or there I listen to some of it. This morning after dropping Maggie off at a crafts event an hour away, I used the ride home to listen through some old Creedence Clearwater Revival tunes.

Before steeping myself in bluegrass and old-time music I never used to pay much attention to song lyrics; now I think of them as the heart of a song, and I pay close attention. John Fogerty wrote some great songs, and occasionally the lyric itself was great. I was surprised and pleased as for the first time I paid attention to the words of “Don’t Look Now,” which Buck Owens or Merle Haggard could have done without shame:

Who’ll take the coal from the mine
Who’ll take the salt from the earth
Who’ll take a leaf and grow it to a tree
Don’t look now, it ain’t you or me

Who’ll work the field with his hands
Who’ll put his back to the plow
Who’ll take the mountain and give it to the sea
Don’t look now, it ain’t you or me

     Don’t look now, someone’s done your starving
     Don’t look now, someone’s done your praying too

Who’ll make the shoes for your feet
Who’ll make the clothes that you wear
Who’ll take the promise that you don’t have to keep
Don’t look now, it ain’t you or me

      Don’t look now, someone’s done your starving
     Don’t look now, someone’s done your praying too

Who’ll take the coal from the mines
Who’ll take the salt from the earth
Who’ll take the promise that you don’t have to keep
Don’t look now, it ain’t you or me

Leave a Reply

