Done with Blogging For Books

I’m glad that reviewing books for Waterbrook Multnomah got me back to blogging, but otherwise it was not a happy experience. No fault of theirs; I wish them well with the program. But the obligation to write a review forced me to write two negative ones, something I don’t enjoy doing.

I won’t be requesting any more books through this or any similar program. Instead, I’ll go back to getting my “free” books from the library, and posting reviews only when I think they’ll be helpful to others.

2 thoughts on “Done with Blogging For Books

  1. I have always had a strict policy of not doing reviews for free materials. I have broken that rule 3 times and I have always regretted it. I guess publishers know that it is very difficult to give a bad review to a gift. You have reminded me to continue my policy.

  2. Rsaenz – I happened upon your post today during some Googling. Wish you’d come back to the program…we really only want honest opinions/reviews. If you don’t like the book, tell us the specifics as to why you didn’t like it…it only helps us, our authors and our editors better understand what hits home and what doesn’t. Long story short: Negative reviews help make our books better. – Chris, Online Marketing Manager @ WaterBrook Multnomah

Leave a Reply

