Tennessee Waltz

I love this song. And everyone of a certain age does as well; it gets a great response.

We sing three verses to the song, but no one else does. I don’t even know if the second and third verses are legitimate. But they’re pretty good.

I was dancing with my darling to the Tennessee Waltz 
When an old friend I happened to see
I introduced him to my loved one and while they were dancing
My friend stole my sweetheart from me

     I remember the night and the Tennessee Waltz 
     Only you know how just much I’ve lost 
     Yes, I lost my little darling the night they were playing 
     That beautiful Tennessee Waltz

Now I wonder how a dance like the Tennessee Waltz 
Could have broken my heart so complete 
Well I can’t blame my sweetheart, and who could help falling
In love with my darling so sweet

     So it must be the fault of the Tennessee Waltz 
     Wish I’d known just how much it would cost 
     But I didn’t see it coming, it’s all over but the crying
     Blame it on the Tennessee Waltz

She goes dancing through the moonlight to the Tennessee Waltz 
And I feel like I’m falling apart 
And it’s stronger than drink and it’s deeper than sorrow 
This pain that she left in my heart

     I remember the night and the Tennessee Waltz 
     Only you know how just much I’ve lost 
     Yes I lost my little darling the night they were playing
     That beautiful Tennessee Waltz

Leave a Reply

