Argent Hotel, San Francisco

Back in my days as a corporate programmer I occasionally attended a professional conference. It was a very expensive perk, and one that I never enjoyed that much. But over the years you forget enough about how much you disliked the last one to get excited about going back again.

JavaOnePic1

In 2000 I went to the JavaOne conference at the Moscone Center in San Francisco.

JavaOnePic2

It was definitely a geeks’ conference. Note the beanbag chairs and the banks of available computers in the background. I forget what all these folks are looking at. The fellow right in front has the very nice laptop bag that was given to every attendee. I still use mine, though not for a laptop.

LunchOne

They fed us well at lunchtime, and of course the weather was beautiful.

LunchTwo

The view from the lunch area.

ArgentHotel

I stayed in this very nice, very expensive hotel just a block away. My room was on the 39th floor.

HotelViewTwo

The room had a floor-to-ceiling window with a spectacular view. But what impressed me the most was the architectural detail on the older surrounding buildings.

HotelViewOne

 

HotelViewThree

HotelViewFour

HotelViewFive

HotelViewSix

One thought on “Argent Hotel, San Francisco

  1. Thanks for posting that – I have made a couple similar visits to the Moscone Center myself. Did not get a nice hotel room though…..

Leave a Reply

