Short Life of Trouble

We did this nearly two years ago on our front porch, as part of a project to record the 95 songs in Rural Roots of Bluegrass, a fine book that we thought might work well as part of a homeschool study of American folk music. The project stalled, but now that we’ve decided not to charge for our music I thought it would be good to make those recordings available.

Unfortunately, now that I listen to them I don’t care much for how I sang them (Chris’s singing is fine, as always). I’ve dialed back on volume and stridency in the past two years, and I think the results make for a more pleasant listen. Perhaps I’ll get Chris to sit down with me and re-record a few of them, so we can compare and decide if I’m right or it’s just my hyper-critical imagination.

Leave a Reply

