How About Never

Here’s a lyric I haven’t yet set to music. I have an idea for a melody, but Chris and I haven’t had a chance to try it out. Still, I think the words are pretty close to set. It was inspired by an old New Yorker cartoon showing a businessman talking into a phone, saying “No, Thursday’s out. How about never – is never good for you?”

The company I worked for was flying mighty high
The bosses living large while the rest were scraping by
I asked when they were planning to spread the wealth around
They laughed at me and told me I had things upside down

     How about never, how does never work for you
     This place is flush because of us, you haven’t got a clue
     You ought to just be happy there’s work for you to do
     How about never, how does never work for you

A little later on the economy got rough
They handed me a pink slip and I had to pack my stuff
I asked them when they thought they’d hire me back again
The paymaster looked at me, set down his fountain pen

     How about never, how does never work for you
     We ran the numbers, couldn’t find enough for you to do
     The rest will work three times as hard and that will see us through
     How about never, how does never work for you

Bills were piling up and the rent was coming due
I needed some cash to help see me through
I asked them when I’d get some back of all that I’d paid in
They told me the bad news, I won’t see it again

     How about never, how does never work for you
     The company used that money to pay off a debt or two
     It didn’t seem to help much, more bills are coming due
     How about never, how does never work for you

I learned to do things for myself, to get by without cash
It didn’t bother me that much when the market went and crashed
They came and asked me when I’d start buying stuff again
I shook my empty piggy bank and told them with a grin

     How about never, how does never work for you
     You said I needed lots of stuff, I found it wasn’t true 
     Just use it up or wear it out, make it do or do without
     How about never, how does never work for you

One thought on “How About Never

Leave a Reply

