Where’d the Money Go?

Earlier I posted new words to the song “Which Side Are You On?” That song already used a traditional melody (“Lay the Lily Down” or “Jack-a-roe”), and just about the only thing I had kept was the chorus, which didn’t really fit the message of my song. So I changed the chorus, and now I think the song is legitimately ours. I also fine-tuned some of the earlier lyrics.

Come listen, you good people, this truth needs to be told
It’s time to tell the one percent we can’t be bought or sold

     Where’d the money go, where’d the money go
     We won’t leave till we know where did that money go

They’ll never hear our voices until we raise a fuss
There’s only one percent of them and ninety-nine of us

My folks worked for the one percent from dawn to setting sun
They worked and saved the best they could but now their money’s gone

They told me if I’d take a loan my future would be bright
And now to pay the one percent I work both day and night

The bailouts lined the pockets of the one percent
It’s time they told the rest of us just where that money went

Don’t listen to the ones they pay to fill the air with lies
They’re scared that we’ll think for ourselves, scared that we’ll organize

Leave a Reply

