So Many Things Could Go Wrong

Last night Chris and I finally had time to sit down and work out melodies for some new songs, but we haven’t recorded them yet. Still, I kind of like posting these lyrics without the music, so here’s another. It needs a bit more work, particularly the final chorus. But it says what I want it to say. (And, yes, it is a true song.)

I knew the day I met her she was the one for me
I saw no point in waiting, I asked and she agreed
I told my friends the wedding was three short weeks away
They begged me not to rush ahead, here’s what they had to say

     So many things could go wrong, wrong, wrong
     So many things could go wrong
     It’s not always smart to follow your heart
     Cause so many things could go wrong

About three years later Chris here came along
We liked him pretty well and decided we’d press on
I told my friends we’d take each one the Lord would send our way
They begged me not to be so rash, here’s what they had to say

To send them to school would have broken our hearts
Can’t imagine spending all those hours apart
I told my friends we wanted to teach the kids at home
They almost fainted at the news, and started to moan

It’s twenty-five years later, seven girls and boys
Grown up strong and smart through sorrows and joys
We’ve taught them to love the right more than the wrong
And when their own friends fuss at them, to sing this little song

     Don’t worry ’bout what could go wrong, wrong, wrong
     Don’t worry ’bout what could go wrong
     Just train up your heart to do what is smart
     Don’t worry ’bout what could go wrong

Leave a Reply

