Save the Roses

My attempt at a country song.

Once I wanted to climb to the top of the heap
Wanted praise for the things I had done
But now all I want is a good night’s sleep
Save the roses for when I’m dead and gone

     Save the roses for when I am gone
     Don’t need praise for the things I have done
     Just looking for a friend who’ll stand by me to the end
     Save the roses for when I’m dead and gone

I piled up a fortune to see me to the end
Then all my plans came undone
Now nothing’s more precious than the love of a friend
Save the roses for when I’m dead and gone

I wanted people to look up to me
To think that I was the one
But fame has a price, while the good life is free
Save the roses for when I’m dead and gone

One thought on “Save the Roses

Leave a Reply

