Have Mercy on the Working Man

This song is more calculated than most of those I’ve written. The structure is deliberately strange. I don’t know if it will end up working. I’ve spent way more time than usual tweaking the words, and am still not especially happy with the words. This is the first song I’ve written with Chris; he provided the melody.

I went to see the doctor for the pain in my chest
Temperature rising, feeling distressed
Tossing and turning, can’t find my rest

Doc said I’d be glad to set you straight
But your last few payments have been a little late
If you can’t pay cash, you’ll just have to wait

     Have mercy on the working man, trying to find a way
     To live his life the best he can and work another day

I know my payments have fallen behind
But times are tough, my income has declined
Please have mercy, ease my worried mind

Doc said I’m sorry, nothing I can do
If you were busted, Uncle Sam would see you through
But while you’re still working, the bills come to you

     Have mercy on the working man, trying to find a way
     To live his life the best he can and work another day

Treadmill I’m walking stretches on and on
Too rich for assistance, too poor to get along
But things will get better once my money is gone

     Have mercy on the working man, trying to find a way
     To live his life the best he can and work another day

Leave a Reply

