I Should Not Have Turned and Walked Away

This is by far the darkest song I’ve written. I think it turned out well, but I don’t know yet whether it will stay in the repertoire. The melody was based on the Old School Baptist song “When Sorrows Encompass Me Round”, but has drifted quite far from it.

I should not have turned and walked away
When they blamed my friend instead of me
We both knew the trouble our little joke could bring
But I didn’t want them thinking I could do such a thing
So I turned and walked away

     I should not have turned and walked away
     I should not have turned and walked away
     But to do the right thing would have cost me my pride
     So I turned and walked away

I should not have turned and walked away
When I saw the coach hurt that little boy
The both of them knew that I’d seen what he’d done
But it would have cut short the career I’d just begun
So I turned and walked away

     I should not have turned and walked away
     I should not have turned and walked away
     But to do the right thing might would cost me my dreams
     So I turned and walked away

I should not have turned and walked away
When I saw the truck hit that little girl
She might not have died if I’d taken the time
But when you save a life you put your own life on the line
So I turned and walked away

     I should not have turned and walked away
     I should not have turned and walked away
     But to do the right thing would have cost me my life
     So I turned and walked away

Leave a Reply

