The Little World of Don Camillo

Here’s something else I like, a real gem courtesy of my friend Laura Alderson. Go ahead and read Laura’s post about Don Camillo–if this sort of thing is for you, her post and the clip found there are enough to make you a fan. I’ve watched the first movie now, and it instantly climbed high up my list of all time favorites. I am a major sucker for stories set in rural villages.

Manon of the Spring (1986) PosterJean de Florette (1986) PosterEven higher on my list are Jean de Florette and its sequel Manon of the Spring, but only because the tale told there is weightier; with regard to setting, Don Camillo rings all the same bells for me, and rings them well.

 

2 thoughts on “The Little World of Don Camillo

  1. Hey, thanks Rick! I’m just now seeing this post because I haven’t checked blogs lately. I’ll check out the movies you’ve posted as well because I’m making up for lost time where movies are concerned.

  2. Oh, I meant to say as well that I’m glad you’re watching the Don Camillo movies. I think the second one is my very favorite. Somewhere on YouTube there is a very interesting documentary on the differences between the Italian and French versions, but alas! It’s in Italian with Italian subtitles for the French parts.

Leave a Reply

