Advice to a young writer from Xeni Jardin

Xeni Jardin is a founding partner and co-editor of Boing Boing, a very popular website I know very little about. But Alan Henry of Lifehacker (a site I follow) says she gave him the best advice he’s ever received. It’s pretty good!

Find untold stories, things that fascinate you, and do your best to tell them honestly. There’s so little truth in the world these days, any small morsel of it is a precious thing that will be appreciated, and find a grateful audience.

Don’t look for "big" stories, just look for ones that matter to you. The more you work at it, the better your work will be, and the more people will see it.

I appreciate the suggestion to “find untold stories.” Even though I make an active effort to avoid them, it often seems like everyone is telling exactly the same stories—on the news, on YouTube, on blogs, in books, in movies. Whenever I come across one I’m not hearing everywhere I try to pass along a link. And you’ll notice that I don’t link to very much.

Leave a Reply

